older entries��| musica��| linx| new words��|�� homepage���|<< ? austinbloggers # >>

NEW: Interviews
Trevor Ngwane

War News
Peter Arnett Apologizes for Thinking for Himself
Protesters Discuss "Shock and Awe" Fast for Peace
Pro-Death Rally

NewThought
Survey: Who's Reading This Site?
On Prisons
Embedded at City Hall: Some Outdated Satire (Recently Rejected by Eyeshot!)
How to Keep It Real: 15 Steps
A COUNTRY SONG About Steak and Jesus
BlogEditor (on Uber.nu)

New Stories

Coffee Shop 2001
Heroin Withdrawal, with Drawl
"Fuck You, Bitch."
Henry Cisneros & Topless Revelers
Men in Bhindis
Corporations, Cursing, & Hairy Legs
Bums Not Bombs


Old Thought
Wavy Gravy, Sheila Jackson Lee, Supergrass, and the Invasion
SxSW Crankiness
Game: Who's This Man?
Fun Birthday Questionaire
For Lonely Cyclists
Even More Little Thoughts
More Little Thoughts Lots of Little Thoughts
I'm Back, Like Arnold
Spanish Pith
Shizzolated Drivizzle
Fun at the Doctor's
Noodelicious
In Sickness
News of the Feared
Mr. Bill & Mr. Bill, etc.
Stuffmas
Suicide or Accident?
The F Word
WTC II: Super-Phallic Nightmares
W. Ho
Vikend
Gallagher, Greyhound, & Bikers LLP
Vice Be Gone
Holiday Gift Guide
No-Fly Zone
Love Those Freedoms
Vibrators = Sin
What the Hell? (11/21/02)
Partnership for a Taco-Free America

Old Stories
The Time I Pissed off the Military
Sewing, in Three Parts
Looking for Uncle John
Johnny Guilty
Johnny Part II
Maintenance
Sad Hallway


Guest Corner
Der Voron
Ralph Aquinas

Curses/Verses
Three Bright Mice
Hey Washing Machine
Spam Poem
Send This to McSweeney's

Elsewhere
My S26 Experience: Prague
My A16 Experience
Alternet: Jim Hightower's Rolling Thunder
The Poem That Paid My Rent for Four Months
From My Philly Protest Days: this and this

2002-11-19 - 4:41 p.m.

Hello. You might not realize this but this site or blog or what have you exists for a reason: To get me back into the creative spirit of things, and to get my mind off the War on Everyone and its potential to make life even more twisted and Orwellian (geez, you sure see "Orwellian" a lot these days). I have little talent in just about every realm, though in 1997 I won $1,000 in a poetry contest and my spelling and grammar are nearly perfect. But my limited talent can not surpass my even more restricted skills in html/gizmology, which I am also learning incrementally by creating this web page.

To add character to "L'Apple," I have downloaded a group of generic icons -- not realizing at the time that I have seen these icons on hundreds of pages already, and that by adding them I would probably detract from my page's limited uniqueness (oh, it's barren now, but just you wait). I don't want to use these icons to decorate my page -- but I don't want to disparage them, either. So for my first project, I will pick an icon from the icon bank each day, and write something about it until I run out of icons. And then we'll see what comes next.

So here's our first icon, the Paintbrush:

Overall it fills me with a little bit of hope. The brush is full and the colors are bright -- perhaps this palette is meant to decorate a baby's bed room walls with little horses covered in flowers. The last time I painted was ... was ... see, the creativity just kind of petered out around 1998, after the check from the poetry society ran out. When I was in high school I wanted to be an artist, and did fairly well with it in 9th grade. But 10th grade was different. By then, we were supposed to show skill, not simply mere enthusiasm. Mr. Pozun, our art teacher, didn't like me much and he gave me a C on my perspective drawing during the first term, forcing me to drop the course before it could be recorded on our report cards. I think I replaced the art class with a study hall -- now that's progress, right? I didn't want to harm my GPA, though ... the reason for so many decisions throughout life. At the time, getting a C seemed like it bring about my academic downfall, and I would be confined to the fryer for the rest of my working life.

Things are going to get a lot worse before they get worse. � Lily Tomlin

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! All original work copyright 2003 by L'Apple Productionz.