older entries��| musica��| linx| new words��|�� homepage���|<< ? austinbloggers # >>

NEW: Interviews
Trevor Ngwane

War News
Peter Arnett Apologizes for Thinking for Himself
Protesters Discuss "Shock and Awe" Fast for Peace
Pro-Death Rally

NewThought
Survey: Who's Reading This Site?
On Prisons
Embedded at City Hall: Some Outdated Satire (Recently Rejected by Eyeshot!)
How to Keep It Real: 15 Steps
A COUNTRY SONG About Steak and Jesus
BlogEditor (on Uber.nu)

New Stories

Coffee Shop 2001
Heroin Withdrawal, with Drawl
"Fuck You, Bitch."
Henry Cisneros & Topless Revelers
Men in Bhindis
Corporations, Cursing, & Hairy Legs
Bums Not Bombs


Old Thought
Wavy Gravy, Sheila Jackson Lee, Supergrass, and the Invasion
SxSW Crankiness
Game: Who's This Man?
Fun Birthday Questionaire
For Lonely Cyclists
Even More Little Thoughts
More Little Thoughts Lots of Little Thoughts
I'm Back, Like Arnold
Spanish Pith
Shizzolated Drivizzle
Fun at the Doctor's
Noodelicious
In Sickness
News of the Feared
Mr. Bill & Mr. Bill, etc.
Stuffmas
Suicide or Accident?
The F Word
WTC II: Super-Phallic Nightmares
W. Ho
Vikend
Gallagher, Greyhound, & Bikers LLP
Vice Be Gone
Holiday Gift Guide
No-Fly Zone
Love Those Freedoms
Vibrators = Sin
What the Hell? (11/21/02)
Partnership for a Taco-Free America

Old Stories
The Time I Pissed off the Military
Sewing, in Three Parts
Looking for Uncle John
Johnny Guilty
Johnny Part II
Maintenance
Sad Hallway


Guest Corner
Der Voron
Ralph Aquinas

Curses/Verses
Three Bright Mice
Hey Washing Machine
Spam Poem
Send This to McSweeney's

Elsewhere
My S26 Experience: Prague
My A16 Experience
Alternet: Jim Hightower's Rolling Thunder
The Poem That Paid My Rent for Four Months
From My Philly Protest Days: this and this

2003-04-23 - 12:52 a.m.

Corrections.

Many Texas newspapers feature a "Corrections" section on their web sites. Sometimes I notice the "Corrections" section and think, "oh, prison news." But then I remember that "Corrections" means "fixed errors." Since I've moved to Texas, prisons have been on my mind much more than they used to be. Probably don't have to explain why.

I wish the "Corrections" section did provide prison news, because so much about what goes on in prisons remains forgotten or unknown by the general public. And with more than two million people behind bars these days, that's a lot of forgotten fates. Not much information about inmates is readily available on the web, but TDCJ does feature a death row page. About twice a month I check it just to see how many folks have moved to the old Polunsky unit. Last time I checked, which was Tuesday, there were two new fellows on there. Often I'll do a google search on their names, to find out how the men (it's usually men) got there. I also snoop around the other sections: last meals, last words. Sometimes the last words are a little funny, because they're so human. But usually they just make me think of wasted opportunity, and wonder what the offenders could have been like had anyone cared to save them before it was too late. Some of them are innocent, I'm sure, based on my research of the death penalty and of several famous precedents (Randall Adams, for one).

Here's some last words from recently executed offenders. I reprint them here because maybe someone out there will see them who otherwise might not have.

Richard Head Williams, executed 2/25/03:Tonight I take my last walk as well breath in this world called Earth.� I state that to show I'm not saddened or enjoied to see this moment.� Because I leave behind alot of people that loved me, that believe I could had been that someone.� If I been given a real chance in life instead of denial or incarceration everytime I was arrested for something the community believed I did.� To be here on Texas death Row show all people that we people of American don't care about helping.� This is about destroying lives to show they can kill, but they hide behind laws of American.� I'm not disappointed of the system or nobody because this is how it's supposed to be.� Texans was breed that way to live, think, act.� But someone is mad that a system that's supposed to protect and uphold what is just and right, has shown it's just as crooked as I am said to be. Now I lay here dead.� But we have gave all Texans the sign that in some instances, and in some cases "KILLING IS ALRIGHT TO DO AS LONG IT'S FOR JUSTICE OF THE AMERICAN PEOPLE".� So who win?� No one do! Ain't no such thing as a closure!� Because we all still will remember who ain't here on them special detes, occasion's ect...� So no victorious, heros and happiness.� but in ALLAH's (GOD) eye justice is his, and we should cry out for his forgiveness.� I leave with ALLAH's blessing as well mercy for my soul.� I'm free now!� Let me rest in peace. Nam-myoho-renge-kyo! Salaamu! Amen!

Henry Earl Dunn Jr., executed 2/6/03:The Death Penalty in Texas is broke.� When an attorney can be forced to represent you, who is not qualified to represent you under Texas laws, the system does not work.� When an attorney can dismiss your appeal process, by missing a filing deadline or for failing to file documents on behalf of a client, thats not Due Process of Law as guaranteed under the Unites States Constitution, the system does not work.� When officials of any state, such as the State of Texas, has so much confidence in their justice system, mistakes will be made, and innocent people will be executed.� Texas has executed innocent people, and tonight, Texas has shown just how broke and unfair its system is.� There is no clemency in Texas, a process that needs to be reviewed, and fixed.� Most importantly, the Texas Justice System need to be fixed.� I hope the politicians such as Elliot Nashtat, Harold Dutton, Rodney Ellis, and others, continue to do their part in trying to fix the Texas Justice System, and until so is done, continue to work for a moratorium on the death penalty in Texas. The victim of this case is NOT forgotten.� To the West family, I hope you find in your hearts forgiveness and peace, and find the strength to move forward and the closure they are looking for.� Nicholas West is not forgotten, and never will be forgotten. To my family and friends, Anne Dolatschko, Debbie Bilodeau, and the many supporters around the world, as well as my attorneys, Michael Charlton, who has always been there for me and done everything in their will and power to help me and stand by my side, I love you dearly, and you will always be in my hear forever.� Please continue to struggle and fight against the death penalty, as its only use has been for revenge, and it does not deter crime.� Its time for a moratorium in the State of Texas.

James Collier, executed 12/11/02:The only thing I want to say is that I appreciate the hospitality that you guys have shown me and the respect; and the last meal was really good.� That is about it.� Thank you guys for being there and giving me a little bit of spiritual guidance and support.

Things are going to get a lot worse before they get worse. � Lily Tomlin

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! All original work copyright 2003 by L'Apple Productionz.