older entries��| musica��| linx| new words��|�� homepage���|<< ? austinbloggers # >>

NEW: Interviews
Trevor Ngwane

War News
Peter Arnett Apologizes for Thinking for Himself
Protesters Discuss "Shock and Awe" Fast for Peace
Pro-Death Rally

NewThought
Survey: Who's Reading This Site?
On Prisons
Embedded at City Hall: Some Outdated Satire (Recently Rejected by Eyeshot!)
How to Keep It Real: 15 Steps
A COUNTRY SONG About Steak and Jesus
BlogEditor (on Uber.nu)

New Stories

Coffee Shop 2001
Heroin Withdrawal, with Drawl
"Fuck You, Bitch."
Henry Cisneros & Topless Revelers
Men in Bhindis
Corporations, Cursing, & Hairy Legs
Bums Not Bombs


Old Thought
Wavy Gravy, Sheila Jackson Lee, Supergrass, and the Invasion
SxSW Crankiness
Game: Who's This Man?
Fun Birthday Questionaire
For Lonely Cyclists
Even More Little Thoughts
More Little Thoughts Lots of Little Thoughts
I'm Back, Like Arnold
Spanish Pith
Shizzolated Drivizzle
Fun at the Doctor's
Noodelicious
In Sickness
News of the Feared
Mr. Bill & Mr. Bill, etc.
Stuffmas
Suicide or Accident?
The F Word
WTC II: Super-Phallic Nightmares
W. Ho
Vikend
Gallagher, Greyhound, & Bikers LLP
Vice Be Gone
Holiday Gift Guide
No-Fly Zone
Love Those Freedoms
Vibrators = Sin
What the Hell? (11/21/02)
Partnership for a Taco-Free America

Old Stories
The Time I Pissed off the Military
Sewing, in Three Parts
Looking for Uncle John
Johnny Guilty
Johnny Part II
Maintenance
Sad Hallway


Guest Corner
Der Voron
Ralph Aquinas

Curses/Verses
Three Bright Mice
Hey Washing Machine
Spam Poem
Send This to McSweeney's

Elsewhere
My S26 Experience: Prague
My A16 Experience
Alternet: Jim Hightower's Rolling Thunder
The Poem That Paid My Rent for Four Months
From My Philly Protest Days: this and this

2003-01-03 - 5:25 p.m.

Looking for Uncle John

From the mid-Seventies to about 1984, my aunt (mother's sister) was married to Uncle John. Uncle John was the first person I'd ever met who had mentioned the word "college," which quickly became known to me as the place where smart people go to learn and get rich. Because that's what Uncle John said he was doing ��learning the tools of the business trade to make more money.

The last time I'd heard anything about UJ was probably last year, when my dad mentioned something of his whereabouts. Dad lives in a small town of 25,000 ��ie few stimulating conversation partners available ��and has some post-9to5 downtime on his hands, which he uses to conduct research on current affairs and the activities of prominent people of our familial past. Often when he calls he immediately launches into what I call "The Suicide Minute" ��every depressing news headline of the week, condensed into a string of non sequiturs and delivered in his standard apocalyptic style. (I call it the Suicide Minute because it's exactly what anyone on the verge is looking for as a last-moments reminder why they've decided to end it all.) When that's over with, he briefs me on which of my former classmates got married or arrested, which neighbors recently died, who he saw at the grocery store that asked him about me, etc. Last time he informed me that our gready-haired next-door neighbor Mike, aka "Mr. Mike," had kicked the bucket, apparently from drinking too much hard liquor during his days as manager of the El Rancho Steakhouse.

Anyway, during one of his all-encompassing reports Dad probably told me where UJ was and what he was doing, but last night I had forgotten the details and when he had given them. So I took advantage of the lonesome Friday night and tried to Google my long-lost Uncle.

Surprisingly, it didn't work. Surprisingly, because the last I knew UJ was the VP of a pretty sizable corporation, and should have racked up some search engine cachet by now. But the only corporate VP I could find with his last name was some guy at La Quinta Inn Inc. Another guy with the same name is an Illinois state rep; I thought for a moment that maybe UJ had whipped up his little snide quips about politics into a platform and a political career. Nope. A half-assed combing of the newsletter printed by UJ's employer turned up nothing but photos of picnics held by workers at various branch plants, dull details about machinery, and notes of X-quarter gains and losses.

Not finding UJ was pretty disappointing. For one thing, it's been over a decade since I last spoke to him. Getting back in touch would be great, no matter how conservative and suburban he's probably become. And I'm also intrigued because he's changed so much over his now 50-plus years on the mothership. The son of a Slovak couple and brother of 7-9 kids � the family lived in downtown Polskitown (name changed to protect innocent parties) in a house with dirt floors � he survived life stages as a young community leader, acid-dealing college kid, then clean college kid, and dutiful employee to end up as a successful ladder-climbing yuppie with management skills. He's the only full-fledged, 80s-made yuppie I've ever known, really, because that kind of person usually wants nothing to do with my or my family's pierogie-munching kind. Since he was married to my aunt, and I was a toddler, I guess he made an exception in my case.

UJ's responsible for some of my favorite and/or formative childhood moments: Learning about volcanoes and "Mother Nature," disco dancing; overcoming my fear and distrust of men with mustaches (he couldn't kick my fear and distrust of men in general, unfortunately); eating fried trout he'd caught on Lake Erie with the zucchini he and Aunt R had grown at their rented house, situated on10 acres in Greensburg, Pa.; going to visit their neighbor, Duff, an honorary member of the One of the Nicest Men Ever Born Club; listening to old Rod Stewart records when they weren't old yet. According to my mom, during Easter dinner 1979 (I was three) I stuck my face in my mashed potatoes after UJ, who sat beside me, looked at me and smiled. He was the smartest guy I knew at the time, or so the rest of the family gushed, and he intimidated me. But he never scared me; he was too loving to inspire fear.

He and Aunt R made a great couple. They were young and childless and cosmopolitan. They went to Pittsburgh � the Big City � all the time, to dine at swank restaurants where the appetizers cost more than the standard three-way meal for my parents and me. At the time, Aunt R worked at The Limited � the Most Glamourous Store at Westmoreland Mall � and was doing some modelling on the side. She even went to D.C. once for a photo gig � I think it involved hosiery advertisement. Their house was large but not pretentious; it fit them and vice versa. Visits were the best; they had a great stereo system with enormous speakers and they'd always dance with me, showing me the dip and other exciting moves and playing their records.

It all fell apart when they moved to another house closer to the city. That's when the extramarital affairs happened, and the nasty papers were filed. I think I learned what "divorce" really meant from my third-grade teacher, who had to explain it to me. If my parents had previously explained it, it hadn't sunk in. Aunt R moved to a trailer park, and UJ moved to western New York.

After the split, UJ continued visiting my parents and I like nothing had ever happened. We all loved him and he remained welcome in our home, even though (rumor has it) he cheated first. That irritated my mother's parents, but everything does so we overlooked it. Besides, they weren't speaking to us at the time anyway due to one of their ritualistic two-year mood swings. In the years after his move to New York I remember getting glasses for the first time, making all A's and earning my nerd stripes, getting sick a lot. These were things we'd discuss in our letters, which he wrote on yellow legal pads and I in pencil.

One day the inevitable happened: UJ found a new wife. She was from the South, which meant that from her first visit my mother didn't like her. Neither did my Dad and I, because this woman talked through her nose and she was mean to her twin daughters. They were cute and well-behaved, but she slapped them anyway. UJ didn't protest. A new side of him was emerging.

When I was 10, my parents and I went to visit UJ and family at their new house in a suburb of "Bourgeoisaqua." We had just driven in from Wildwood, N.J., at the time The Best Vacation Spot in the Universe. I was under the weather because during a shower I'd slipped and split my chin, an accident that required a tetanus shot (and nearly a distemper shot for my mother, who you can always count on for a hearty hyperventilating fit). I was running a fever but nevertheless excited to be in New York for the first time with my idol, the approaching-graduation, promotion-earning UJ. By then, however, the paths of our families had already diverged, and the distance was growing.

My only memories of that vacation: Lying on the couch with a fever; thinking how weird it was that the couch, a scratchy thing with pictures of water wheels on the cushions, had once sat in a house that UJ had occupied in another state, with another wife; turning away a plate of biscuits with sausage gravy; hearing my mother complain about "sausage gravy � what the hell is that?"; thanking God that UJ's wife was not my mother; feeling sorry for the cute little girls, my only cousins; and trying to eat the worst-tasting hot dog of my entire life at this pier-type place that served as one of the town's only attractions. More confounding, however, was my relief that UJ wasn't my dad, for he had become a strict disciplinarian who condescended to his stepdaughters in a way I'd never have imagined. He wasn't like that when he was married to my aunt. After a weekend of fun mixed with awkward moments, mom and dad and I piled up in the silver Caravan and made the trek down 219 past the Corning Glassware factory in Corning and the Zippo factory in Bradford towards home.

Despite the weird moments, UJ and my family stayed in touch. They visited several Christmases in a row, and we were heartened to see that UJ's wife was loosening up and slapping the twins a little less frequently. This was obviously before the email era, so mostly we communicated by letter and Hallmark card. A couple times the twins stayed at our house and for a night I'd feel like I had sisters. They were really nice, those girls.

In 1992 I was 16 and anxious to travel beyond the Tri-State area (whichever three states you choose, as long as they border PA, will work). In August, just before the start of my senior year, I told my parents I wanted to go to Chicagoland and visit UJ. In the time since my family's visit to his NY house, UJ's company had moved him to a bigger, better, more prestigious location as reward for his hard work, and I had hoped to take advantage of that � and see how he was doing. They let me go, and on a warm night I boarded the Amtrak and headed west.

At 8am the train passed the crops of Indiana, then wound through Gary; we got to Chi-town around 10. I won't go into all the details of my visit, but I will say that UJ's new suburb was more posh than the last, with an artificial lake and tennis courts. Something for everyone.

Before I headed back east, UJ took me to the famous Pizzeria Uno, which people have defaced in a most charming way by carving their initials all over the walls; and the Sears Tower. When we got to the observation floor I looked out and saw all the pretty yellow lights and considered that maybe I could survive the torture of another year in public school after all. The world was indeed bigger.

Within a year I made another unexpected visit to Chicago as a member of the Art Club at school. More firsts: First walk through a Chinatown, first visit to a Niketown, first view of a naked male model ... the world was starting to become more eclectic. And I was going to college in the fall, where it would be okay to dress like a boy and maybe even find a boy who liked that sort of thing. Most of the trip I spent walking around separated from the crowd, initiating a pattern that has lasted through the present. In the Class of '93 yearbook photo commemmorating the trip, the whole art club is smiling for the camera except for me. I was standing in the front row, but looking to the left. Probably didn't hear the picture-taker say "ready," but it's more romantic to think I was being a rebel girl.

Since I was in town, I called up UJ to see if he'd like to see me. He did, and so we met downtown and went to Greektown. And that was the last time I saw him. But not only that ��it was also the last time I talked to him. Not sure why, but I think it had something to do with my new, Nirvana-influenced sense of humor, because when I'd say something that was funny to me, UJ and Wife would pause in that stilted "oh ... ah-hah" way, and look down at their spanokopita and push the conversation back towards school and other neutral topics. Literate folks call this "cognitive dissonance"; I call it "yuppies with sticks up their ..." Whatever it was, it left me with the impression that an irreversible schism had taken place, and I did not know how to fix it. I wanted our relationship to be just like it had been years previously, when UJ was teaching me how to be sarcastic and abrasive. But I left dinner that night thinking that if I were his daughter instead of the twins, he'd tell me to dress like a girl and major in business.

If we talked today, how would the conversation go? Would he tell me I was just a dumb kid who didn't understand the free market, or has he figured out that the invisible hand waves its middle finger at everyone but a tiny elite? Does he still work at a corporation?

And why can't I find him? Did he change his name? It's hard for me to believe that he didn't become a big cheese at the corporation, because he was motivated and determined. I guess he was driven by his own past, days of dirt floors and crooked teeth of his Slavic siblings. Somehow, the suburbs seemed better.

But what if the suburbs were better-suited for him? What if he really does understand something that the rest of us didn't figure out, because we were too busy wanting him to be something he wasn't? It's hard to say, but as I write this I wish he were around to tell me.

Things are going to get a lot worse before they get worse. � Lily Tomlin

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! All original work copyright 2003 by L'Apple Productionz.