older entries��| musica��| linx| new words��|�� homepage���|<< ? austinbloggers # >>

NEW: Interviews
Trevor Ngwane

War News
Peter Arnett Apologizes for Thinking for Himself
Protesters Discuss "Shock and Awe" Fast for Peace
Pro-Death Rally

NewThought
Survey: Who's Reading This Site?
On Prisons
Embedded at City Hall: Some Outdated Satire (Recently Rejected by Eyeshot!)
How to Keep It Real: 15 Steps
A COUNTRY SONG About Steak and Jesus
BlogEditor (on Uber.nu)

New Stories

Coffee Shop 2001
Heroin Withdrawal, with Drawl
"Fuck You, Bitch."
Henry Cisneros & Topless Revelers
Men in Bhindis
Corporations, Cursing, & Hairy Legs
Bums Not Bombs


Old Thought
Wavy Gravy, Sheila Jackson Lee, Supergrass, and the Invasion
SxSW Crankiness
Game: Who's This Man?
Fun Birthday Questionaire
For Lonely Cyclists
Even More Little Thoughts
More Little Thoughts Lots of Little Thoughts
I'm Back, Like Arnold
Spanish Pith
Shizzolated Drivizzle
Fun at the Doctor's
Noodelicious
In Sickness
News of the Feared
Mr. Bill & Mr. Bill, etc.
Stuffmas
Suicide or Accident?
The F Word
WTC II: Super-Phallic Nightmares
W. Ho
Vikend
Gallagher, Greyhound, & Bikers LLP
Vice Be Gone
Holiday Gift Guide
No-Fly Zone
Love Those Freedoms
Vibrators = Sin
What the Hell? (11/21/02)
Partnership for a Taco-Free America

Old Stories
The Time I Pissed off the Military
Sewing, in Three Parts
Looking for Uncle John
Johnny Guilty
Johnny Part II
Maintenance
Sad Hallway


Guest Corner
Der Voron
Ralph Aquinas

Curses/Verses
Three Bright Mice
Hey Washing Machine
Spam Poem
Send This to McSweeney's

Elsewhere
My S26 Experience: Prague
My A16 Experience
Alternet: Jim Hightower's Rolling Thunder
The Poem That Paid My Rent for Four Months
From My Philly Protest Days: this and this

2002-12-16 - 1:03 a.m.

Feeling Shallow

Today finds me with little to say. Could it be the absence of barroom vices that has stolen my pluck and sass? Doubt it -- it was just a calm weekend. The highlights, some of which are quite feeble:

got a visit from The Visitor

took my first longish bike ride in months (to Curra's Grill, a delightful Interior Mexican restaurant ... now with two locations)

bought bulk organic flours

baked brownies

attended two nice parties. At one party I told an acquaintance about the time (musta been about 3) I ran around the yard with a plastic grocery bag full of grass and apples, trying to catch birds to keep as pets (it didn't work)

played ping pong with my co-workers Sean and Erin and new acquaintance Michael and didn't do too badly

correctly answered "Klaus Barbie" (Nazi) to a Trivial Pursuit question

watched Al Gore on Saturday Night Live

found a big CD shelfing unit. Anybody want it?

met a Canadian

ate egg substitute

played on an electric organ

slept on other people's couches

cleaned my apartment

realized I'm leaving the country in two weeks and have nothing planned

wore tight jeans that won't be so tight once the Visitor leaves

sang "Careless Whisper" and "Everything She Wants" by Wham!

contemplated starting a zine

complained about sexism

thought about going to see bands at Le Privilege club, abandoning it due to thoughts of snobby indie rocker children

eavesdropped on a conversation in which the two male speakers talked about "manhaters" and getting rid of their "girls" and moving money around in their various accounts

considered calling someone on my cell phone and loudly saying, "I'm eating and these guys next to me are some of the most obnoxious assholes I've ever heard!"

looked at Christmas lights

pinched my gut

thought about relationships

cut my hair a little

dreamt about the Barton Springs salamander, my old college professor, and my pending trip

saw people smoking cigarettes outside Walgreen's

read an article in which the author fixates on Mick Jagger's "bulge"

ate hemp granola and flavored soy milk

Non-Accomplishments

Now, what I didn't do is break my promise to not smoke (well, okay ... I had 1.5 cigarettes on Friday) or drink too much. At the parties, I drank one pint of beer and a glass of wine. When morning came, I felt super-fine. It was great! Already when I smell cigarettes, the scent makes me breathe into my sleeve. Seems that the bad habits are over. Sure, it's early in the game, but my mind is kicking vice's ass.

Materialism

One reason I feel shallow is that all I can think about is going shopping. Sometimes this materialistic affliction hits me along side the head, causing me to engage in this uninspiring activity. But I think right now I'm going through a phase in which I no longer want people to think of me as a disorganized moppet but as a serious adult, so it's causing me to covet "adult" items such as appliances and cleaning agents. Last weekend, I bought a Dirt Devil and spent an hour vacuuming the floor, careful to capture every little crumblette and stray fingernail sliver. It was a magical experience! And it shouldn't have been, because it was vacuuming! See, this is frightening stuff.

Now look at this scary shopping list, and you tell me if it bespeaks of something worrisome. This list includes all the things I want to buy this week:
coffee maker
scrubby sponge for pots and pans
cookie sheets
yeast
some grease-busting fluid in a spray bottle
an iron (the scariest of all)

Things are going to get a lot worse before they get worse. � Lily Tomlin

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! All original work copyright 2003 by L'Apple Productionz.