older entries��| musica��| linx| new words��|�� homepage���|<< ? austinbloggers # >>

NEW: Interviews
Trevor Ngwane

War News
Peter Arnett Apologizes for Thinking for Himself
Protesters Discuss "Shock and Awe" Fast for Peace
Pro-Death Rally

NewThought
Survey: Who's Reading This Site?
On Prisons
Embedded at City Hall: Some Outdated Satire (Recently Rejected by Eyeshot!)
How to Keep It Real: 15 Steps
A COUNTRY SONG About Steak and Jesus
BlogEditor (on Uber.nu)

New Stories

Coffee Shop 2001
Heroin Withdrawal, with Drawl
"Fuck You, Bitch."
Henry Cisneros & Topless Revelers
Men in Bhindis
Corporations, Cursing, & Hairy Legs
Bums Not Bombs


Old Thought
Wavy Gravy, Sheila Jackson Lee, Supergrass, and the Invasion
SxSW Crankiness
Game: Who's This Man?
Fun Birthday Questionaire
For Lonely Cyclists
Even More Little Thoughts
More Little Thoughts Lots of Little Thoughts
I'm Back, Like Arnold
Spanish Pith
Shizzolated Drivizzle
Fun at the Doctor's
Noodelicious
In Sickness
News of the Feared
Mr. Bill & Mr. Bill, etc.
Stuffmas
Suicide or Accident?
The F Word
WTC II: Super-Phallic Nightmares
W. Ho
Vikend
Gallagher, Greyhound, & Bikers LLP
Vice Be Gone
Holiday Gift Guide
No-Fly Zone
Love Those Freedoms
Vibrators = Sin
What the Hell? (11/21/02)
Partnership for a Taco-Free America

Old Stories
The Time I Pissed off the Military
Sewing, in Three Parts
Looking for Uncle John
Johnny Guilty
Johnny Part II
Maintenance
Sad Hallway


Guest Corner
Der Voron
Ralph Aquinas

Curses/Verses
Three Bright Mice
Hey Washing Machine
Spam Poem
Send This to McSweeney's

Elsewhere
My S26 Experience: Prague
My A16 Experience
Alternet: Jim Hightower's Rolling Thunder
The Poem That Paid My Rent for Four Months
From My Philly Protest Days: this and this

2003-03-14 - 1:55 a.m.

A Contrariness Demonstration

Instead of using my expensive but free-to-me South by Southwest music conference badge to get into shows and have fun, I biked home from South Austin and worked on my diatom-sized web career. How's that for old and shriveled? Now that I'm in my late twenties, I have to begin asserting my age and the wisdom and fatigue that accrues. Soon it will be time for Geritol smoothies and the first of many carpal tunnel syndrome operations. I can hardly wait until my subscription to Golf Digest kicks in, so I can begin visiting the greens to swap health updates with my ball-wacking buddies.

Okay, that's facetious. But I AM tired, which old people usually are. Today was long and hot and brought several petty annoyances of the kind that drives you crazy while they're unfolding, but once over strikes you as kind of funny. For instance, today I went to work and discovered about 5 paychecks in my folder that no one told me about. That's kind of funny, because what the hell am I living on? (Very little money.)

Then I had to drive about 6 miles without any brakes on my bike. The reason why I had to do this is because some bald little slacker cycle-fixing guy at the shop near my house took too damned long to get to tightening my brakes, that I ran out of waiting time and had to bolt. Apparently, this fellow's job description includes talking on the telephone and chatting for extensive time periods with some in-the-flesh customers, while failing to acknowledge the existence of other customers � like those with jobs that require them to work efficiently and be at certain places at certain times. At the bike shop, I got all huffy (no pun intended) and left. And if you've ever seen me in the midst of a hissy fit, you'd know that it's a funny sight. Just imagine a hamster getting angry and indignant ��it's not much different from that.

After 25 minutes watching baldy talk, I rode to South Austin, and when I arrived at my destination noticed that my bag with all of my important junk ��bank card, phone, reporter's notebook � had a humongous hole in the bottom of it. Miraculously none of the bag's contents spilled out onto the roadways of downtown Austin. Upon locking my bike, I noticed giant greasy tire treadmarks running up and down my legs, and when I tried to wash it off it wouldn't come off. It looked like weird tribal tattoos, which are against my religion. Oh well.

Not all sucked, however. A bunch of people and I went to a restaurant called Rudy's Barbecue and when I told the folks behind the counter that I'd never been there before, they all stopped working and shouted 'rookie!' at me. Then they handed me some turkey, which was excellent. This place had banana pudding and creamed corn, two of my favorite yellow food items. Rudy's also has a "Cutter Cam" which shows a man's hands in the process of cutting ribs into presentable meat pieces.

Things are going to get a lot worse before they get worse. � Lily Tomlin

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! All original work copyright 2003 by L'Apple Productionz.